Community Association Manager Licensing

(Information from the Community Associations Institute Website at http://www.caionline.org/govt/managerlicensing/Pages/default.aspx) Community Associations Institute's Position: "CAI encourages the national certification of community association managers. In states that propose mandatory regulation of community association managers, CAI will support a regulatory system that incorporates adequate protections for homeowners, mandatory education, and testing on fundamental management knowledge, standards of conduct and appropriate insurance requirements. CAI opposes the licensing of community association managers as real estate brokers, agents or property managers."

Alaska

- "A person may not collect fees for community association management or practice or negotiate for a contract to practice community association management unless licensed as a real estate broker, association real estate broker, or real estate salesperson in Alaska."
- Education Requirements: Vary. Licensure as a real estate broker requires 15 hours of Real Estate Commission approved coursework and licensure as a salesperson requires 40 hours of courses. 20 hours of continuing education.

California

- "A person may perform the services as a community association manager and hold themselves out as a manager in the state without becoming certified; however, it is considered an unfair business practice for someone to hold themselves out as a 'certified common interest development manager' (CCIDM) without complying with state code."
- CCIDM an individual who for compensation or in expectation of compensation provides or contracts to provide management or financial services to an association. May not be required to obtain a real estate or broker's license.
- Education Requirements: "Applicants for CCIDM certification must successfully complete 30 hours of state-approved coursework within three years of initial certification." Some professions are exempt from education requirements. 30 hours of continuing education, in addition to legal courses on California management law.

Colorado

- "Any person and or entity that performs more than one community association management service to any form of common interest community for any form of compensation must be licensed. Chief executive officers that do not perform community association management service are not required to be licensed."
- Specific "community association management practices" are defined to distinguish who is required to be licensed.
- Education Requirements: One can be a Certified Manager of Community Associations, Association Management Specialist, or Professional Community Association Manager. OR One can complete a 24 hour course on community association management. Submit for criminal background check, earned high school diploma or GED. 8 hours of continuing education is required.

Connecticut

- "Any person who provides management services is required to register with the Department of Consumer Protection (Department)." Management services are defined for licensing requirements.
- Education Requirements: One must complete a nationally recognized course on community association management. One must also submit to a state and national criminal background check.

District of Columbia

• Most community association managers are not required to be licensed, however it is recommended that you contact the Real Estate Commission or an attorney if you are unsure.

Florida

- "In most circumstances, community association managers in Florida are required to be licensed in order to carry out their duties as a manager." If a person provides management services for an association with more than 10 units or a budget of \$100,000 or greater they must be licensed. Management services are defined for licensing requirements.
- Education Requirements: One must complete 18 hours of pre-licensure education. One must also file a complete set of fingerprints taken by a law enforcement officer. Continuing education requirements include 20 hours of state approved work. This is made up of 4 hours of legal update seminars, 4 hours of instruction on insurance and financial topics, 4 hours on the operation of the community association's physical property, 4 hours on human resources topics, and 4 additional hours in any of the topics listed. Regulatory council could establish public education programs. 468.4315

Georgia

- "Community association managers must be licensed under the Georgia Real Estate Commission in order to function as a community association manager in the state." Management services are defined for licensing requirements.
- Education Requirements: One must be a high school graduate and have completed one of the following requirements. One must have completed 25 hour Community Association Manager's Prelicense Course, enough course work to have earned a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university, or 25 hours of prelicense course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province.

Illinois

- The Illinois Community Association Manager Licensing Act requires community association managers to obtain a license to work in the state. A community association manager is an individual who (for compensation) provides financial, administrative, maintenance, or other duties to the community association.
- Education Requirements: One must complete 20 hours of approved prelicensure courses. The education requirement does not apply to persons holding an Illinois real estate salesperson, broker, or managing broker license.

Nevada

- A person is prohibited from acting as a community association manager without certification. "A community manager is defined as a person who provides for or otherwise engages in the physical, administrative or financial maintenance and management of a common-interest community, or the supervision of those activities, for a fee, commission or other valuable consideration."
- Education Requirement: One must "complete at least 60 hours of instruction in courses in the management of common-interest community that has been approved by the commission." Requires continuing education. 116A.630. 18 hours

Virginia

- "Under the Virginia Code, any common interest community manager engaged in community management services must be licensed to do so in the state." Management services are defined for licensing requirements.
- Education Requirements: One must either obtain a certificate from the Board or work under direct supervision of a certified principal or supervisory employee